The AHA!!

Brazilian Jiu-jitsu. It can be difficult to get a hang of. I’ve studied Tae Know Do, Muay Thai, now Shotokan Karate…arts which typically involve smashing people. BJJ is something completely different. It requires a much greater and in depth knowledge of the human body, it’s mechanics and the scientific principles of balance and leverage. In English, Karate is an art. Brazilian Jiu-jitsu is a science. 

It’s been an interesting ride so far. Every week, I go home wondering, am I ever going to get this? Will my game ever get better? Will I ever get the hang of this? My principle instructor, Professor Fariba, works hard with me and encourages me every step of the way. Our BJJ crew is a family of people from all walks of life with one thing in common: a love for the science of BJJ. Every time I roll, though… I get smashed. Constantly. When doing the drills I often don’t get the point. The game never seems to get any easier. 

Until now. 

I know that in the beginning of anything, that’s when it’s the most difficult. When it makes legit no damn sense at all. I watched a video on YouTube today that was this BJJ black belt talking about white belts and holding on and just keep trying because God damn you’re gonna get there. It may take a week, a month, a year but you will have moments of “aha!” Moments where everything comes together and you put everything into place. Tonight I had one of those moments. 

I was training with a guy named Albert. Good guy. So we’re working on triangle chokes from the spider guard. I move to execute the choke, completely lose his arm and pushed him over rather than getting my leg in position. So as he’s knocked over and I’m cursing myself, he says “what else do you have right now?” And that’s when it happened. Aha! I have him in position for an arm bar. I lock it in. It’s effective. He taps. 

I was finally able to see something that I hadn’t before. A move in the human chess game. Before tonight I was wondering if I would ever going to see myself as a blue belt. Now, I think with more time, practice and dedication, it will totally happen. My faith in myself is restored and my love of Jiu Jitsu rages on. 

Never give up!!! Search for your aha!!!

Osu!!!

Doug

Leave a Reply

