Being Sick Sucks

So. FOR THE SECOND DAMN TIME THIS YEAR…

I have been forced out of the gym and out of the dojo for reasons beyond my control. Well I….suppose dressing warmer and not smoking….you know what? Screw you, common damn sense! I’m hopped up on cough syrup and I’ll say whatever the hell I want!

So I haven’t been to the gym since Friday. Haven’t been to the dojo since Thursday. Dojo is my doing. As much as I love Karate and I love Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, I couldn’t stand to go there and not be able to give 100%. On top of that, the martial arts are steeped very heavily in respect. I have the respect for my school, my Instructors and my fellow students to not show up and spread this bullshit around.

Gym…well, as Cait suggested, having a coughing fit when you’ve got a heavily weighted barbell above your face….not such a good plan.

I was scheduled to have my yearly physical on Monday, which turned into “We’re not completing the physical until you’re better. Oh but take this down to the lab. We can still take blood from you.” Sweet? So a bottle of piss, 5 vials of blood and some antibiotics later I’m on my way home. What do we know for sure? Acute Bronchitis. Yes, you assholes, also known as the common cold but Acute Bronchitis sounds more…you’re gonna die-ish. And with the frequent and often violent coughing? It feels like Satan himself deep throated me with a bayonet covered in friggin’ barbed wire. Haven’t slept much in the past week because every time I try to get more than a couple hours shut eye, I’m jerked back awake by the often quite painful cough. It sucks.

I’ve made it a theme before, and I’ll do it again. If your body needs rest? GIVE IT the rest it needs. Don’t go all stupid and try to lift weights when you can’t, or try to focus on kata when you can’t…have some respect for yourself and your body. Heal up.

Just as important as that? Have some respect for your training partners. I wouldn’t wish this upon any of the students I train with, both Karate and BJJ. It sucks, interrupts training and hurts from time to time. Don’t actively try and get people sick.

On the plus side? I had on Friday made the conscious decision to quit smoking (again, yes…) and having this? Has definitely helped. I can’t bare to screw up my throat some more. In fact, smoking likely caused this. Haven’t had a butt since Friday afternoon. I’ve had a few cravings, but then I coughed and lost them. Real fast.

*COUGH!!!*
*CHOKE!!!!*
*WHEEZE!!!*
*CHOKE!!!!*
…….osu…….

Doug

Leave a Reply

